Certificate from Holger Knaack with Dylan Daniel-Marsh (Belconnen) and DG Michael Moore 
A great deal has been printed over the past few months about respect. One of the great strengths of Rotary is that it is held in high esteem within the community. The flip side is that Rotary Clubs need to take care that they also ensure respectful relationships within the club, within Rotary generally and within the community.
In District 9705 we are not only celebrating 100 years of Rotary in Australia but also celebrating local milestones. These include the 50th year of the Rotary Clubs of Coolamon, Belconnen and Bathurst East and these celebrations are cause to pause and reflect about how things have changed and improved. The 50th birthday of the Rotaract Club of Canberra makes it the oldest continuing Rotaract Club in our region and one of the oldest in the world.
Whilst continuity and change go hand in hand, Rotary will be able to continue to reach out and “do good in the world”.
This is one of the reasons that Rotary International President, Holger Knaack, has asked Rotarians for commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion. The committee that has been established by the International President builds on the work of the Rotary International Board that adopted a Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Statement (DEI) in 2019.
Holger Knaack called for these issues to be discussed by all Rotarians and argued “there is no place within Rotary for racism, homophobia, transphobia, sexism, classism or ageism”. In the establishing his DEI committee he added, “as we begin this work, Rotary’s leadership is united in stating that Rotary does not tolerate speech or behaviour that promotes bias, discrimination, prejudice, or hatred because of age, ethnicity, race, colour, abilities, religion, socioeconomic status, culture, sex, sexual orientation, or gender identity”.
The issue of how we improve our clubs will be a key part of the Club Development program in Young and Broulee and there will be the opportunity to discuss the most effective way to build our understanding and implementation of diversity, equity and inclusion. Additionally, there is assistance in the Learning Centre in My Rotary.

ACT and NSW Rotary Emergency Services Community Awards - Nominations close soon.

NSW – Nominations Close 9 May 2021

The NSW Rotary Emergency Services Community Awards (RESCA) are an initiative of the Rotary Districts of NSW. In keeping with Rotary’s motto of “Service Above Self”, the Awards acknowledge and celebrate the selfless Community Service of NSW Emergency Services personnel.

Who is eligible for an award?

Nominees must be paid or unpaid (volunteer) members of one of the seven listed NSW Emergency Service Agencies who perform Community Service above and beyond the call of their normal duties.

How to nominate someone for an award

Fellow ESA members, Rotarians and the general public are encouraged to submit nominations via the Awards website. www.RotaryESCawards.org.au 

THE ACT – Nominations Close 30 May 2021

The Rotary Clubs of the ACT have opened nominations for the 2021 ACT Rotary Emergency Services Community Awards (RESCA). RESCA is a community nominated Awards, therefore it is based on the reputation of the personnel from their local communities’ viewpoints.
It’s been a busy year for the ACT Emergency Services Agency (ACTESA) with natural disasters including bushfires, grass fires, smoke haze, floods and hailstorms impacting the ACT.
The annual awards recognise emergency service personnel who have gone above and beyond the call of duty and epitomise the Rotary motto of ‘Service Above Self’.
Australian Rotary Health Fundraiser
Woden Daybreak Rotary and Daana Original Food Restaurant invite you and your friends and relatives to come along to a Karma Kitchen on Tuesday 11 May to raise funds for mental health research.
There is no set cost for dinner.  Guests pay whatever they like at the end of the meal, no questions asked, with 50 percent of the proceeds going to Australian Rotary Health. 
If you haven't tried Daana before, don't miss this event! Daana has won a swag of awards in recent years, including Chef of the Year ACT 2020 and Best Indian Restaurant ACT for the last three years.
Bookings are essential through daana.com.au but hurry as seats go fast!
Children's Emergency Fund
A Request from DG Michael and Mrs Helen Moore.
Helen and I request that your club consider a donation to the Children's Medical Emergency Fund. If you are prepared to do so the details of the Children’s Medical Emergency Fund account are as follows:
St George
Name of account:
RI D9705 Inc CMEF
BSB:  112 879
A/C no.: 479922903
Please make sure you identify your club and it would be appreciated if you also sent an email to Treasurer Rosemary Everett to let her know you have made the donation ...  reverett@netspace.net.au
2020-21 District Directory
2020-21 District Directory
Click on the above directory to download a full copy.